Home > Game Reviews > Sonic Colors (game review)

Sonic Colors (game review)

My wife surprised me for Father’s Day (and my anniversary since they are just a few days apart) by giving me Sonic Colors as a gift. There are only a few more games left on my want list of the Wii and this was one of them. No, I didn’t get it when it first came out, but with so many quality games coming out at the end of last year, this little gem got pushed aside for awhile. But, now that I’ve played it and beat it, what do I think of it?  In my opinion, it will go down as a must-own for Wii owners and as the best 3D Sonic game since Dreamcast.  Here’s how I break it down…

Remember a little game that came out on the Wii called Super Mario Galaxy?  Or it’s even lesser known sequel? I don’t think it sold very well, so it came as a big surprise to me that Sonic Colors ripped off of many of the best elements of those games (sarcasm).

Seriously, though. The game is set in space. There are levels where Sonic gets flipped upside down. There are timed power-ups where Sonic takes on the persona of that power-up. The view switches from 3D to 2D and back again. These are all elements found in Super Mario Galaxy. But, you know what? I’m alright with that. Sonic got his start on the Genesis as an answer to Mario. He’s been the Yin to Mario’s Yang. Okay, that didn’t sound right. But, you get my drift.

Graphics  
Again, for those people who think the Wii cannot handle good-looking graphics, I give you Sonic Colors. The level design and aesthetic is a sight to behold. Since the game takes place in an amusement park, the vibrant use of color reminds me of Disney World at night. It actually is almost a shame you speed through most of the levels, because it’s a real treat to take in variety of backgrounds. I swear I’m going to get someone else to play the game so that I can sit back and take in all the sights. Planet Wisp, with its lush green grass, Sweet Mountain with its Candyland aesthetic good enough to eat, the edgy vibe of Astroid Coaster.  All of it was A+ material. There are a few instances where you see a close-up of Sonic and the care taken in giving Sonic extra detail shows you how much effort was put into the look of this game.

Gameplay
The flip between 2D and 3D gives an incredible amount of variety to the different goals presented in each level. For the most part, it works. Although there are a lot of timed events where you are basically told what button to push and when, it did not slow me down or distract me. Without them, the game would be nigh impossible. The 2D platfoming parts are fun, although frustrating at times. What gives these parts its flare, of course, are the wisps. These little alien creatures are strategically place through every level so that when you release them, you can use them to give you certain powers for a limited time.

The wisp powers are new to the Sonic universe. Sure, he has had power-ups in other games, but these are much different than anything seen in a Sonic game before. From the ability to roll along ceilings, to slicing through enemies like a laser beam. From floating through space in a submarine, to burrowing into the ground with one-man drill. Each wisp gives you a chance to flip traditional platforming onto its head.

My only problem with using the wisps is that many of the levels only give you wisps once you complete. It’s a cheap way to build up replay value for the game. I feel like it’s a bit unnecessary because most people aren’t going to explore every bit of the game the first go around. They WILL come back to see what all they may have missed. This has always been the beauty of classic Sonic games. Plus, it makes the first go-around on many levels too linear.

The difficulty spikes in some of the later levels are also disappointing. The game starts out pretty easy, but it does get more difficult along the way. The issue is that you will face an incredibly tough level one moment, just to move onto an easy-breezy level the next moment. Without spoiling much, the level following the very tough Eggman level at the end of the game is so easy and incredibly short I was left perplexed as to why they bothered including it.

Also, some of the 2D platforming is excrutiatingly cheap. I had far more Game Over screens (get used to seeing that) from pit deaths than I did from enemies or even bosses. I don’t mind it so much except that some of the best levels have these parts in them, so whenever I go to show off the game to friends, it goes from really awesome to, “Are you finished with this? Cuz I want to play some Smash Bros.”

Controls
I played with the Wii-mote only, so I cannot attest yet to the effectiveness of other controls, but overall the controls were tight. I wish, however, they mapped the wisp power button to the minus button or at  least made the “wii mote shake” more responsive. I found myself shaking the wiimote like a madman to activate a power. I would take off points for this, but there are other controller options I haven’t tried that are probably better.

Story
Get ready for the worst of Saturday morning cartoon acting. Honestly, I do have a bias against the Sonic cartoons. Sonic’s spunky, stoopid-guy attitude has always been a turn off to me. Sonic Team leader Takashi Lizuka did admit that the story was aimed at kids, but then backpeddled on that statement when there was a fan backlash. But, nothing changed when the game came out. It IS targeted for kids. Nothing wrong with that. Except, Mario finds a way to do it better. 🙂

Sound
Sonic has always had more of a jazz-groove than anything else, but Colors changes that formula. It is heart-puming techno-pop and for the most part, it works. I like the main theme (how rare is it to hear a video game theme with lyrics?) and the final boss music is one of the best pieces I have heard in any video game (and trust me, I listen to a LOT of video game music).

The few issues I have with the controls and story should not be a deterrant if you are interested in buying the game. It is flat-out a fun game. Worth buying and worth replaying.

 
-1 for lame story
-1 for unbalanced difficulty

+3 for fast-paced fun
+2 for a great soundtrack
+2 for innovative power-ups
+3 for seizure-enducing graphics

Final Score:
8 out of 10 block-chomping frenzy wisps

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment